Women's WMRT: Return of the Danes

Women's WMRT: Return of the Danes

Women's WMRT: Return of the Danes


22/09/2023 - 08:20

Copenhagen, Denmark (21 Sept, 2023) Danish match racers Camilla Ulrikkeholm and Lea Richter Vogelius finished the opening day of the KDY Women's Match Race in Skovshoved Harbour undefeated with four wins out of four races. The Danish duo lead the opening round robin after completing the first five flights of the four-day event. The Copenhagen event hosted by the Royal Danish Yacht Club is the fourth and final event of the 2023 Women's World Match Racing Tour season with racing through Sunday.

After a summer break from Stage 3 of the Women's WMRT in Le Havre France in July, the eight teams arrived this morning to Skovshoved Harbour just north of Copenhagen with sunny skies and a perfect 10-15 knot breeze for the opening day of the event. Following a short practise session and welcome ceremony ashore, racing started at 2pm with the Race Committee pushing through the first five flights of the schedule with plans for a double round-robin.

Defending 2022 champions WINGS team from Sweden skippered by Anna Östling won two of their three races of the day, losing out in their match against Ulrikkeholm.

Ulrikkeholm is no stranger to match racing at Skovshoved, nor the DS37's boats being used at the event. She has been match racing for over 15 years having competed in previous Open tour events and with five consecutive victories at the Lysekil Women's Match in Sweden.

"It's been a few years since we have been match racing but it's good to be back on the DS37's which we know well, and we do know the sailing area well" added Ulrikkeholm.

Sailing the heavier six-crew DS37's for the first time, some of the visiting teams used much of the first day to familiarise themselves with the boats, and their opponents, as New Zealand's Celia Willison added, "They are bigger boats for sure and it took us a few races to get used to their handling, but we are in good shape and looking forward to tomorrow."


A day of double jeopardy sees 52 Super Series 2023 title battle
Boring and Daring both win the race in frenetic qualifying series