Rolex Circuito Atlantico Sur 2023

Rolex Circuito Atlantico Sur 2023

Rolex Circuito Atlantico Sur 2023


14/01/2023 - 16:56

One of the most important events of the South American racing calendar is the “Rolex Circuito Atlántico Sur 2023”, co-organized by the Yacht Club Argentino (YCA) and the Yacht Club Punta del Este under the auspices of ROLEX. The cities of Buenos Aires and Punta del Este are preparing to welcome the best sailors from the continent. From Saturday to Friday 14-20 January, different crews from Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil will be competing in the waters of the touristic Uruguayan city of Punta del Este.

Activities started on the evening of Friday, 13 January with the captains' meeting and cocktails at the Race Headquarters in the North Dock. In this 2023 edition there are 49 registered entries, with 405 crew members, 43 of these are racing in the ORC classes using the brand new version of the 2023 VPP 2023 just released a few days ago. Notable among these entries are the Brazilian boat Crioula, a TP52 owned by Eduardo Plass, and last year's winner of the MAC General Classification, the Soto40 OD owned by Fernando Chain.

After a breakfast and parade of boats at the North Dock of YCA, accompanied by the Musical Band of the Argentine Naval Prefecture, on Saturday family members and friends will say goodbye to the fleet as they head out to the race start area.

The start of the race from Buenos Aires to Punta del Este will be at 12:00 pm for the ORC Classes. Satellite tracking will be mandatory, with teams followed at the link, where course, speed, and data will be available for all the boats. Meanwhile, on Sunday, January 15, the first boats will begin to arrive at Punta del Este.

The regatta schedule for the ORC and J/70 Classes, in front of the port of Punta del Este, is as follows:

Monday, January 16: Windward – Leeward races for J/70’s
Tuesday, January 17: Windward – Leeward races foor ORC and J/70 classes
Wednesday, January 18: La Barra Circuit Regatta for ORC classes and Windward - Leeward races for J/70’s
Thursday, January 19: Windward – Leeward races for ORC and J/70 classes
Friday, January 20: circuit will end with the traditional Vuelta a Gorriti regatta for ORC and J/70 Classes

Prizes will be awarded on Friday to the winners of the ORC classes and the winners of the J/70 Class. The “Buque Correo” Cup will be awarded to the first boat to cross the finish line in the “Buenos Aires – Punta del Este” race.

The Awards Ceremony of the "Rolex Circuito Atlántico Sur 2023" will take place on Friday, January 20, at 8:00 p.m., at the Yacht Club Punta del Este. Rolex will award a watch as a prize to the ORC class winner of the "Rolex Circuito Atlántico Sur 2023". The system for assigning the winner is established in the Sailing Instructions.

Soldini racconta le fasi più importanti della regata e l’avaria a bordo
The Ocean Race, alla vigilia della partenza di un'edizione storica